Human sensory organs - sensory organs function

Published on 11-Sep-2022

Human sensory organs:

There are a total of five sensory organs that help us in hearing, seeing, feeling, tasting, and listening. They are the eyes, ears, nose, tongue, and skin, and all these five organs are vital for us to survive. They all play an important role in the functions that we carry out regularly.

They all contribute to the crucial functions and actions that are needed for us. Eating, breathing, smelling, hearing, and seeing are all important for living. If we don't eat, we can't stay alive after a specific time. If we cannot breathe, we will end up dying from the lack of oxygen. If we don't feel, smell or see, it will make our lives harder, and we will not be able to stay safe from harmful things around us. 

1. Eyes- our eyes help us to see things around us.

2. Nose- it helps us to smell different fragrances of different things.

3. Tongue- it helps us to taste food or other substances and eat.

4. Skin- helps us feel sensations, and it also produces sweat.

5. Ears- helps us to hear noises or someone's speech. 

The eye- the organ of vision.

Most living organisms have eyes for vision. It gives the ability to visualize things for all organisms. Roger Bacon discovered eyes for the first time. Our eyes detect light waves and convert these into electrochemical impulses in the neurons that are then passed to the brain. The seven significant parts of the eyes are the sclera, cornea, iris, pupil, lens, retina, and optic nerves. They all have different functions that they carry out and help us see things around us. 

The sclera is the white part of the eye that protects our eyeball.

The pupil is the black ball that controls the amount of light that enters our eyes.

The cornea helps in covering the iris and the pupil.

The lens of our eye helps focus light onto the retina at the back of the eye. 

The retina detects light and helps it to convert it into electrical impulses and sends it to the brain. 

The three layers of the eyes are:

  • The Outer layer, made up of the sclera and cornea, is also known as the fibrous tunic.
  • The Middle layer is made up of the uvea, also called the vascular tunic.
  • The Inner layer is mainly made up of the retina called the neural tunic.

About Accommodation

It is mainly the process of changing the shape of the lens that helps us focus on distant objects. It also allows us to see the things clearly that are both near or fat. When our eyes try to focus on a close object, the lens becomes thicker, which allows the light rays to refract more strongly and helps us see. This process makes the eyes function to change the focal length of the eyes. Then the image is formed on the retina, and we can see.

Ear- Hearing, and equilibrium.

The ears help us hear and listen to all the noises and sounds around us. The ears have three parts which are the outer ear, the middle ear, and the inner ear. They all have different roles. The malleus, the incus, and the stapes are the three bones in the ear. The stapes bones are the smallest bones not just in the ear but in the entire human body.

More Article

 Tag  #

User Comments

Your name:

Your email:

Your Website (Optional):

Your Comments:

Type Author Name:

    Search By Subject
    Search By Location