United Nations Organization

Published on 14-Oct-2022

United Nations

The United Nations, shortly known as the UN, is an international governmental organization. The primary purpose of the organization is to maintain international peace and security. They work worldwide to develop friendly relations among nations and achieve international cooperation for development. The organization serves as a hub for coordinating global behavior. It is the world's largest and most famous NGO international organization. The headquarters of the UN Organization is located in New York, and the other main offices lie in Geneva, Nairobi, and Vienna. The International Court of Justice is located in the Hague city of the Netherlands. 

The Origin of the Organization

The organization's formation began when President Franklin D. Roosevelt briefly met with Soviet Premier Joseph Stalin in Tehran city of Iran. In their meeting on November 1943, the President proposed an international organization about an assembly of all member states worldwide. He also wanted to make a 10-member executive committee to discuss the countries' social and economic issues. 

The UN Organization was created after the end of World War II. It was a measure to prevent future wars and destruction within the world. The organization succeeded the League of Nations, which was considered useless in the beginning. Fifty governments of the world met in San Francisco on April 25th, 1945, for a conference and made a draft of the UN Charter. The draft was reformed and adopted on June 25th, 1945, and after almost four months, the Charter took effect on October 24th, 1945. 

The Duties of the UN

When the UN began operations, its main goals were according to the Charter. The organization's primary objectives include:

  1. Maintaining international peace and security.
  2. Protecting human rights.
  3. Delivering humanitarian help.
  4. Promoting sustainable development for society and upholding international law.

The organization had 51 members in the Charter. South Sudan was added to the Charter in 2011. The membership of the UN is now 193, representing almost all of the world's sovereign states. 

The permanent members of the United Nations, also known as the Big 5, are the most important countries of the UN Organization. The members are China, France, the former Soviet Union, now Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. Now more than 150 countries are part of the UN Charter Organisation. 

The UN's chief administrative officer is the secretary-general of the organization. The post is currently held by a Portuguese politician and diplomat named António Guterres. António began his first five year-term on January 1st, 2017, and he was re-elected on June 8th, 2021. UN is continuing its work for a peaceful and disciplined World.

The Branches of the United Nations around the World 

The United Nations (UN) has six main branches of the committee. Five of them are the General Assembly (UNGA), the Security Council (UNSC), the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the Trusteeship Council (UNTC), and the Secretariat (UNS). These five branches are located and are based at UN Headquarters in the international territories of New York. The sixth committee is the International Court of Justice (ICJ), located in The Hague in the Netherlands.

The Famous Organizations under the United Nations: 

  • ICJ: International Court of Justice
  • HABITAT: United Nations Center for Human Settlements
  • UNCTAD: United Nations Conference for Trade and Developments
  • UNDP: United Nations Development Program
  • UNEP: United Nations Environment Program
  • EARTHWATCH: United Nations System-Wide Earth watch
  • GEF: Global Environment Facility
  • GPA: UNEP Global Program of Action for the Protection of Marine Environment 
  • ECA: Economic Commission for Africa
  • ECE: Economic Commission for Europe
  • ESCAP: Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific
  • FAO: Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
  • IMF: International Monetary Fund
  • ILO: International Labour Organization
  • UNESCO: United National Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
  • WHO: World Health Organization
  • WBG: World Bank Group 
  • SOCA: Subcommittee on Oceans and Coastal Areas

More Article

 Tag  #

User Comments

Your name:

Your email:

Your Website (Optional):

Your Comments:

Type Author Name: